Conservation or Adaptive Reuse of a State Registered Place
Exchange Hotel, Kalgoorlie
One of the State Heritage Register’s newest recruits, the Exchange Hotel in Kalgoorlie is one of those places people assume has always been on the Register due to its many associations and grand stature. Built in 1901, the two-storey Hotel displays grand Federation Filigree style and has retained many of the original features.
The Exchange Hotel is undoubtedly the busiest pub in Kalgoorlie located on the main intersection and has been the hospitality heart of the town for over 100-years.
Works commenced in October 2017 and carried on until July 2018. The entire building was covered in scaffolding and everything from rising damp at ground level to the top of roof turrets was worked on and refurbished or replaced. The first step was engaging a consultant to carry out the Conservation Management Plan for the building.
The Exchange Hotel has undergone a complete façade overhaul. After years of disrepair the hotel once again stands proudly on the main intersection of town welcoming visitors to the Goldfields town.
Hibernian Hall (The Westin Perth)
Hibernian Hall was built in 1902 as the hall to St Mary's Cathedral and served that purpose until 1947 when it became Perth Chest Clinic, and in 1956 was expanded to the east with a two-storey addition. The adaptation required the removal of the Perth Chest Clinic elements, the conservation of the hall shell and interior.
The hall project was undertaken over a two-year period commencing in 2016 and completing in May 2018. The major works were undertaken by BGi and the conservation of the hall was undertaken by specialist conservation builders, Perth Builders. Griffiths Architects lead the conservation and adaptation works through documentation and contract administration. It opened as Garum in May 2018.
The retention, conservation and adaption of the Hibernian Hall was a project given at the outset. The commitment was made at the outset to make the hall a focal point of the Westin Hotel and it was determined that it would be a high-quality food and beverage experience that made use of the hall as a single space.
Katanning Roller Flour Mill (The Premier Mill Hotel)
The Katanning Roller Flour Mill has been the heart of Katanning since its foundation in 1891, but in recent decades had fallen into dilapidation.
The Premier Mill had been vacant for many years prior to Dôme’s restoration and for the last decade had been completely closed to the public because of safety issues. A lack of funds for urgent and necessary preservation work meant the Mill was at high risk of significant dilapidation. The building was already in a state of dereliction well beyond that reported in the conservation plan.
A multi-million-dollar restoration has transformed it into a boutique hotel, Dôme café and basement bar. Much of the mill’s infrastructure has been retained with original industrial elements now sitting alongside cutting-edge design and technology, producing a world-class heritage tourism offering.
Works included the installation of a new roof across the entire Mill and the building’s restoration to its original brickwork; “Mill Corner” was reactivated with welcoming landscaping; and extensive restoration of the facades of the Clive street buildings returned them to their 1890's-1920s aesthetic.
The hotel acts as a de-facto tourist information hub from which guests can explore and connect with the Great Southern region. The Premier Mill Hotel is part of a larger vision for similar projects, with heritage and story-telling at their core which aim to help close the divide between our metropolitan and rural areas.
Rottnest Island Sea Wall
The limestone sea wall at Rottnest Island is a welcoming heritage feature that greets everyone as they get off the jetty to start their holiday.
The wall needed to be stabilized as a matter of public safety. Several specialists—including Rottnest staff, a heritage architect, archaeologist, engineers, arborist and a team of specialist stone layers—have been working to protect the wall from potential collapse and restore its distinctive face.
The solution was to grout inject the soil behind the wall. Hundreds of cubic metres of grout were pumped into the ground to mix with the soil, thus becoming a new retaining wall immediately behind the heritage sea wall and out of view. The second part of the repair job involved making sure tree roots didn’t cause any more problems. Colgan Industries dug a two-metre deep trench behind the sea wall and installed a root barrier. Like the injection of the grout, all of that work is now hidden in the ground.
The third part of the project was restoring the face of the sea wall. Colgan Industries cleaned away the old cement and paints off the length of the wall, restoring it almost to its original state.
Swanbourne Hospital Conservation Area (Montgomery House)
Montgomery House is the remarkable result of the huge transformation of a group of derelict heritage buildings into a unique aged care residence.
Formerly known as Swanbourne Hospital, the site has over 100-years of history with the heritage buildings being the remnant core of the original Claremont Hospital for the Insane, constructed in 1904.
Prior to this project, the buildings were unoccupied for a prolonged period of time and had suffered extensively from vandalism, fire damage and water ingress. The buildings were in dire need of attention and substantial conservation work was required.
Acquired by Aegis in 2012, this meticulous conservation and adaptation project has enhanced the very best of their original character with elegance and sympathy. New additions and landscaping have been sensitively integrated with the existing to create an outstanding outcome for this landmark heritage site.